Walk Day 44 – Hartington to Ravenstor

Saturday 9th June 2018

10.62 miles today. 475.98 miles total.

What a beautiful day. Soft grass, limestone, trees, hills, lots of trees and views.

Before I left the Youth Hostel a lady called Susan gave me a donation for PCRF. Thank you, and I hope you enjoyed the Chatsworth flower festival.

There were a lot of other walkers out there today enjoying the opportunity to get some fresh air at the weekend. Most were walking quite fast with the determination of those with a long walk to do and only one day in which to complete it..

Even without my pack, which went in the boot of Peter’s car while Maggie and Frankie walked with me, I wasn’t going to keep up. But that didn’t matter. This isn’t a race.

I must include this heifer because she popped her head over the wall while we had lunch, to be followed by the rest of the very-young herd. They were all rather gorgeous.

The walk took longer than it might have done because the views were so good that I kept stopping to take photographs. “What is life if full of care….” etc.

A quick stop at the Angler’s Rest at the end of the day finished our walk off nicely.

It was only another fifteen minutes to the Youth Hostel from there.

Thank you Peter and Maggie for sharing the journey with me, and for your donation to PCRF.